About the Series

What will our society look like 10, 20, or 50 years from today? For four epic seasons, FUTURESTATES has taken us on a journey to explore possible futures through the prism of today's global realities. Written and directed by veteran and emerging indie filmmakers, and developed and produced by the Independent Television Service (ITVS) with funding provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, this groundbreaking series of science fiction shorts invites the public to envision the future.

Now, FUTURESTATES is transporting you to an unprecedented narrative experience — an immersive and interactive storyworld of interconnected stories from a diverse group of indie filmmakers and interactive digital storytellers. And it starts with you. Someone from the future has been trying to contact you. First on Twitter. Then Tumblr. And now, right here on this site. She has a message. But it’s not enough to tell you. She has to show you. Unlock your potential. Explore the future.

futurestates is best viewed on desktops and laptops using the latest versions of chrome (v34), Firefox (v29), Internet explorer (v11) or safari (v7).

If your video playback isn’t smooth, then here are some things you can try:


Story By


Karim Ahmad   Tanuj Chopra   Nisha Ganatra   Mark Harris   Mike Knowlton   Tina Mabry   Trevin Matcek   Greg Pak   Alex Rivera   Hal Siegel   Aldo Velasco


Sheetal Sheth


Tanuj Chopra
Nisha Ganatra
Tina Mabry
Trevin Matcek
Greg Pak
Alex Rivera
Aldo Velasco


Sunday Boling & Meg Morman

RGBD Toolkit Director of Photography

Alexander Porter

HTML5 Canvas Animations

Olivier H. Beauchesne

3D Modeling

James Borda

Malik Production Design

Steven Boling

Malik Makeup Artist

Rommy Najor

Malik Production Assistant

Jeff Regan

Research Consultants

The Institute For The Future

Content Consultant

Lance Weiler

Logo Design

Tom Sieu

Storyworld Design & Development


Series Producer

Karim Ahmad

Series Production Manager

Maria León

Senior Producer, ITVS Interactive

Michael Kinomoto

Marketing Project Manager

Jayan Kalathil

Marketing Project Associate

Kaleigh Gaynor

Programming Assistant

Karolyn Wong

Post-Production Supervisor

Joanna Goldfarb

Series Editors

Benita Sills
Sarah Detera
Jason Alarcón


eMber Lee
Heather Butterfield


Tiffany Woolf

Interactive Editor

Craig Phillips

Social Media Manager

Elisabeth Copper

Broadcast & Distribution Manager

Annisa Kau


Director Of Marketing & Publicity

Lisa Tawil

Managing Director of Marketing & Communications

Amna Mirza

Managing Director of Distribution & Content Management

Sreedevi Sripathy

Director, ITVS Interactive

Jen Kaczor

Managing Director of Business Affairs

Isaac Hager

Senior Producer, National Productions

Richard O’Connell

Managing Director of Programming

Erica Deiparine-Sugars

Vice President

Pamm Higgins

Senior Vice President of Content

Jim Sommers

Executive Vice President

Judy Tam

Executive Producer

Sally Jo Fifer